Our Honoris Causa Degrees

We have awarded doctor’s degrees honoris causa to distinguished personalities that have excelled in their respective disciplines and are representatives of our humanistic philosophy.

Past recipients include:

Juan Carlos de Pablo (2009)

Born in Buenos Aires, he is one of the most influential economists in the country. A graduate from the Argentine Catholic University and Harvard, Dr. De Pablo has been professor at UCEMA since. He is a member of the Argentine Academy of Economic Science. He is the recipient of several awards including Premio Ovidio Giménez, Fundación Ovidio Giménez (1972); Premio Dr Daniel Goytía, Asociación Argentina para el Progreso de las Ciencias (1975); Premio Economía Argentina, Fundación Judía Argentina (1977); Cruz de Plata Esquiú (1981); Premio Konex en Comunicación-periodismo, Fundación Konex (1987); Premio Longines al periodismo destacado (1995); Martín Fierro (1997, 1998, 1999, 2002 y 2006); Santa Clara de Asís, Liga de Madres de Familia (2000); Premio Perfil (2007, 2008, 2010); Premio Tomás Bulat (2015).

Marcos Aguinis (2015)

Born in Buenos Aires in 1935, he is an Argentine doctor, writer and essayist. Trained in medical studies, music and psychoanalysis, his work and his ideas are focused on the notions of independence, democracy and the rejection of authoritarianism. Dr. Aguinis has received several awards including: Premio Planeta (Spain), Fernando Jeno Award (Mexico), National Book Award, Argentina Society of Writers Honor Award, the Pranavananda Swami Award, Esteban Echeverría Award (Free People), the Juan B. Alberdi award (Hispanic American Center for Economic Research). He has a Doctor Honoris Causa degree from Tel Aviv University (2002) and The Hebrew University of Jerusalem (2010). He was named a Distinguished Writer in Residence at the American University and Public Policy Scholar by the Wilson Center both in Washington, D.C.

Ricardo López Murphy (2015)

After graduating in economics from University of La Plata, Dr. Lopez Murphy attended the University of Chicago and Economics from the University of Chicago and obtained a M.A. degree in economics. For the last three decades he has taught UCEMA, University of La Plata, University of San Andrés, University of Buenos Aires and University of Mar del Plata. He served as Chief Economist of the Latin American Economic Research Foundation (FIEL) during the 1990s. During the presidency of Antonio de la Rúa he was Minister of Defense (1999-2001) and Minister of Economy (2001). In 2003 he was a presidential candidate for RECREAR, a center right coalition, and secured the third place with 15% of the votes. Dr. López Murphy is a prolific writer, author and co-author of numerous books. He has toured Latin America and the world as a speaker and speaker on economic, political and social issues. He currently works as a consultant and economic advisor in Argentina and Latin America.

Víctor J. Elías (2016)

Víctor J. ElíasBorn in Tucumán, Argentina in 1937, Víctor Elías received his undergraduate degree from the National University of Tucumán in 1960, and a MA degree and PhD. in economics from the University of Chicago (1964 and 1969). From 1965 until his retirement Dr. Elías was Professor of Economics at the National University of Tucumán and also served as director of the university's graduate program in economics. He was elected twice President of the Argentine Economic Association (1970-1972 and 1978-1980). He was also the President of the Latin American Standing Committee of the Econometric Society from 1984 to 1986 and again, from 1994 to 1996. Dr. Elias has been a visiting researcher at Torcuato Di Tella Institute in 1965 and 1968, and at the International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) in Washington, D.C., as well as a visiting professor at both Harvard (1973) and Stanford (1975, 1988). He was also an advisor to the National Research Council of Argentina Social Science Committee. Dr. Elias is an expert on economic growth. He received the Konex Prize (1996) and the Anita Harberger Prize awarded by the Marroquin Foundation (2003). He is a member of the Argentine Academy of Economics and was a fellow of the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation.

Father Pedro Opeka (2018)

Father Pedro OpekaIs an Argentine Catholic priest who for the last four decades has been working as a missionary in Madagascar. In 1989 Father Pedro Opeka created a local non-governmental organization called Akamasoa (the good and faithful friends) to continue his work with the Malagasy people. Today Akamasoa sustains about thirty thousand people in 18 villages, among them 10,000 children, who all receive education at one of 37 schools built since its founding. In 2007 France awarded Father Opeka the Legion of Honor.

Fernando Monckeberg Barros (2019)

Is a Chilean surgeon, doctor of medicine specializing in nutrition, professor and researcher at the University of Chile. He is the founder of the Institute of Nutrition and Food Technology of the University of Chile (INTA) and president of the Corporation for Child Nutrition (CONIN). Thanks to his research and the plans he developed to combat malnutrition in underprivileged areas, in the last 50 years, infant mortality in the first year of life in Chile dropped from 180 children per thousand to only seven.